Announcing the GlycoNet travel award winners for the Canadian Science Policy Conference

Four Network trainees will participate in the conference where they will be exposed to a wide spectrum of topics and pressing issues in science and innovation policy

Four GlycoNet trainees will attend the 2019 Canadian Science Policy Conference in Ottawa on November 13-15. From left: Fernando Altamura, Anne Halpin, Erum Razvi, Revathi Reddy.

By Ali Chou

The Canadian Glycomics Network (GlycoNet) is delighted to congratulate the winners from our recent Canadian Science Policy Conference Competition. Each winner is sponsored by GlycoNet to attend the conference in Ottawa, Ontario, on November 13-15, 2019.

The Canadian Science Policy Conference is an event that brings together scientists, entrepreneurs, policy-makers, politicians, journalists, students and many others from across the country to discuss, exchange ideas, and mobilize knowledge regarding the present and future of Canadian science, technology, and innovation policy. GlycoNet-sponsored trainees will have the opportunities to meet with the stakeholders behind the science policy-making scenes and learn about science from a societal perspective.

The four awardees are:

  • Fernando Altamura: PhD candidate, Cestari lab, Institute of Parasitology, McGill University
  • Anne Halpin (@halpingal): PhD candidate, West lab, Departments of Pediatrics, Surgery, and Immunology, University of Alberta.
  • Erum Razvi (@Erum_Razvi): PhD candidate, Howell lab, Sickkids Research Institute
  • Revathi Reddy (@reddyrevathi96): Master student, Derda lab, Department of Chemistry, University of

Congratulations to the winners! Please stay tuned to GlycoNet’s social media (Twitter: @glyconet_nce. LinkedIn: @GlycoNet. Facebook: @GlycoNet) and website to hear about their experiences from the conference.

Scroll to Top