Home / À propos / Gouvernance / Comité de Gestion de la Recherche

Comité de Gestion de la Recherche

Le Comité de Gestion de la Recherche supervise le portefeuille de R&D et fait des recommandations au Conseil d'Administration sur le financement des demandes de subventions de Partenariats Cliniques et d'Équipes Collaboratives.Le Comité guide les orientations de recherche en fonction du plan stratégique global approuvé par le Conseil.

Membres du Comité

Paul DeAngelis Dr. DeAngelis’s research has led to commercial applications, including the design of novel hybrid polysaccharide molecules for medical or industrial applications, the formation of biocompatible coatings and surfaces for use in sensors or other implanted devices, the synthesis of defined oligosaccharides that have potential for use as anticancer agents, anticoagulants, or immune system stimulators and the synthesis of sugar-based targeting drug delivery systems. Dr. DeAngelis is a founding scientist of four life science ventures: Hyalose, Heparinex, Choncept and Caisson Biotech.

Professeur présidentiel,
Centre des sciences de la santé de l’Université de l’Oklahoma

Richard Furneaux
Institut de recherche Ferrier

Jennifer Kohler Research in the Kohler lab focuses on understanding the roles of glycoconjugates in a variety of biological systems.

Professeure associée,
Centre médical du sud-ouest de l’université du Texas
Todd Lowary Dr. Lowary is currently a Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Alberta. Group research interests are focused in the areas of carbohydrate chemistry and biochemistry, in particular as these fields relate to bacterial glycans. Recognitions include an EWR Steacie Memorial Fellowship and the Bernard Belleau Award from the Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC). In 2011 he and four colleagues were co-recipients of the Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering from NSERC.

Directeur scientifique,
Mark Nitz Professor Nitz’s research program spans the areas of synthetic carbohydrate chemistry and chemical biology. Focusing on bacterial biofilm formation the Nitz lab has efficiently synthesized key carbohydrate adhesin’s that form the structure of the biofilm matrix. These compounds have served as substrates to elucidate the biochemistry and structure of the enzymes required for polysaccharide adhesin synthesis and biofilm formation.

Université de Toronto
Obadiah Plante Dr. Plante is Senior Director of Bacterial Immunology at Moderna Therapeutics where he leads the discovery of novel mRNA-based vaccines and antibodies. Previously, Dr. Plante served as Director of Research at Visterra through their acquisition by Otsuka for $430M. At Visterra he led early stage research programs including a CARB-X funded program developing an innovative glycan-targeted antibody-drug conjugate for the treatment of Pseudomonas aeruginosa infections.

Directeur sénior,
Moderna Therapeutics
Mariela Segura Dr. Segura’s laboratory applies multidisciplinary approaches, from biochemistry to cellular and molecular immunology, to dissect the role of bacterial capsular polysaccharides (CPSs) on the immunopathogenesis of the disease caused by pathogenic streptococci.

Université de Montreal
Donald Vinh Dr. Vinh’s research focuses on identifying genetic defects of the immune system that explain why certain individuals are prone to infections. From patients with inexplicable or mysterious conditions referred to his clinic, Dr. Vinh’s program performs comprehensive immunological and genetic investigations to identify the reason for their susceptibility, with the goal of identifying novel approaches to treating their conditions and restoring them back to health.

Professeure associée,
Institut de recherche du Centre universitaire de santé McGill
Warren Wakarchuk Dr. Wakarchuk is a Professor from the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of Alberta. The Wakarchuk lab investigates the structure and function of the enzymes which make and degrade various glycoconjugates. This work has been enabling the chemo-enzymatic synthesis of bioactive glycoconjugates both in the laboratory and for industrial projects. The Wakarchuk lab has expertise with both mammalian and bacterial carbohydrate active enzymes for glycan remodelling applications.

Directeur scientifique associé,
Steven Xanthoudakis Dr. Xanthoudakis brings over 27 years of pharmaceutical industry experience, holding various positions at Merck in discovery research, in business development, and as Research Investigator in the Department of Neurogenetics at Hoffman La Roche (NJ, USA). He also served as the Chief Business Development Officer for the Quebec Consortium for Drug Discovery (CQDM) where he managed the execution of numerous R&D deals involving pharma, biotech, and academia.



Elizabeth Nanak Dr. Nanak is the Network’s Executive Director. Dr. Nanak was involved in the GlycoNet initiative since the Letter of Intent stage and served as the Associate Director, Business for the Alberta Glycomics Centre from 2007–2015. Prior to her position with the Centre, she worked as a manager of large-scale and multi-institutional projects with Genome Prairie. In addition to her PhD in biochemistry, Elizabeth has an MBA in biotechnology management.

Stewart Fast Dr. Fast is a Senior Program Manager at the Networks of Centres of Excellence Secretariat. He is GlycoNet`s liaison to the tri-council funding agencies with the dual role of support and oversight on program rules. Prior to joining NCE, Stewart was Research Director at the University of Ottawa`s Institute for Science, Society and Policy. He holds a PhD in Human Geography.

Chef de programme principal,
Réseaux de centres d'excellence

© Réseau Canadien de la Glycomique (GlycoNet). Tous droits réservés.

en_USEnglish fr_CAFrench