GlycoNet welcomes three new members to the Board of Directors

 Posted: October 27, 2022

Dr. Janice Bailey, Dr. Jason Acker and Louise St-Onge have joined the GlycoNet Board of Directors

GlycoNet is pleased to announce three new members have joined its Board of Directors: Dr. Janice Bailey, Dr. Jason Acker, and Ms. Louise St-Onge. As members of the Board, they will be responsible for the overall stewardship of GlycoNet, including strategic planning and board governance.

“Our new Board members bring a wide range of strengths—One Health knowledge, commercial know-how, community impact through socio-economic development, and expertise in entrepreneurship,” said CEO Elizabeth Nanak. “We ran a thorough process to find these individuals, and I am excited to work with them for the years to come.”

Dr. Janice Bailey is the Scientific Director of Fonds de recherche du Quebec – nature et technologies (FRQNT), where she develops and promotes research activities to solve challenges and stimulate socio-economic development in a manner that benefits Quebec and other nations. Prior to joining the FRQNT, Bailey was a Professor of Animal Sciences and Research Associate Dean in the Faculty of Agriculture and Food Sciences, with an adjunct professorship in the Faculty of Medicine at Université Laval. Bailey is the founding member of the Reproduction, Development and Intergenerational Health Research Centre at Université Laval, Co-Director of the Quebec Reproduction Research Network, and served as the Co-Chair of the 2021 World Congress of the International Society of Developmental Origins of Health and Diseases.

Dr. Jason Acker is the Senior Research Scientist at the Canadian Blood Services’ Centre for Innovation and a Professor in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at the University of Alberta. Acker is also the Associate Vice-President (Research Integrity Support) at the University of Alberta, where he has leadership responsibilities for building, implementing and managing a framework that supports programs and services encompassing all research integrity areas, including compliance, ethics certification, clinical trials monitoring, human and animal ethics, safeguarding research, and legal requirements related to research at the University of Alberta. Acker is actively involved in consulting with and advising companies and organizations developing biobanking and cell therapy programs. He is the Co-Founder of two start-up companies.

Ms. Louise St-Onge is the Head of Pricing, Market Access and Government Affairs at Mitsubishi Tanabe Pharma Canada. She holds more than 25 years of executive experience and a track record of strong contribution and achievement of commercial objectives in rare diseases, specialty therapeutic areas within both start-up biotech and large pharma. St-Onge is recognized for her strong leadership capabilities in guiding diverse teams and groups, and she bares a solid business acumen that allows her to look at problems from multiple points of view and formulate ideas that have not previously been tested. She also holds several awards for superior contribution to organizations and was nominated for prestigious awards in Health, including Ernst & Young entrepreneurship, OCTAS for Techno Innovation.

“I am pleased to welcome our new Board members Dr. Bailey, Dr. Acker, and Ms. St-Onge,” said Karimah Es Sabar, Chair of the Board of Directors. “These individuals each bring a wealth of experience and particular expertise in their fields, which will add value to GlycoNet and the Board moving forward.”

Discover more from GlycoNet News.


Scroll to Top