New GlycoNet Trainee Association Executive Committee announced

Ali Chou • Posted: September 30, 2020

GlycoNet trainees will receive support to advance their professional development and promote their research activities

The 2020-2021 GlycoNet Trainee Association Executive Committee. From top left to right: Emily Rodrigues, Omozogie Paul Aigbogun, Revathi Reddy, Jolene Garber. From bottom left to right: Nakita Buebrazo, Reilly Pidgeon, Marie Boddington.

The Canadian Glycomics Network (GlycoNet) is pleased to announce its 2020-2021 Trainee Association Executive Committee members. The Committee consists of seven GlycoNet trainees from six institutions across Canada. The members will represent the interests of all trainees, including undergraduate students, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, research associates, and technicians. Working together with GlycoNet’s management team, the Trainee Association Executive Committee advocates for trainees’ concerns while providing various resources to enhance trainees’ experience at GlycoNet.

“We are excited to welcome our newest GlycoNet Trainee Association Executive Committee,” says Dr. Elizabeth Nanak, GlycoNet’s Chief Executive Officer. “Members of this Committee come from diverse backgrounds, and this is what we feel will contribute the most to a more inclusive training program.”

“One of GlycoNet’s core missions is to prepare the next-generation glycoscientists to be tomorrow’s leaders and innovators,” says Dr. Warren Wakarchuk, GlycoNet’s Associate Scientific Director. “The Training Committee and I are delighted to support new training initiatives and professional development activities. I look forward to seeing how our program will shape the experience of GlycoNet trainees and contribute to their career paths.”

The new Chair of the Trainee Association Executive Committee, Emily Rodrigues, says that in addition to the different funding opportunities for trainees, the Committee is planning several new initiatives this year. “We are discussing new programs such as science knowledge exchange events in different locations across Canada, and the possibility of launching an alumni association to connect current trainees with those that succeed beyond GlycoNet. We care for the well-being of our community, and we want to make sure that trainees have the resources and tools available if they need to reach out for career advice or networking opportunities.”

The members of the 2020-2021 Trainee Association Executive Committee are:

Emily Rodrigues
Graduate Student, University of Alberta

Vice Chair:
Marie Boddington
Graduate Student, Queen’s University

Nakita Buenbrazo
Tehnician, McMaster University

Communications Officers:
Revathi Reddy
Graduate Student, University of Alberta
Reilly Pidgeon
Graduate Student, McGill University

Symposium and Webinar Series Representative:
Jolene Garber
Post-doctoral Fellow, University of British Columbia Okanagan

Omozogie Paul Aigbogun
Graduate Student, University of Saskatchewan

Discover more from GlycoNet News.


Scroll to Top