Une Introduction à la Glycomique

La glycomique est l’étude des sucres dans les cellules vivantes.

La glycomique est analogue à la génomique et à la protéomique – c’est l’étude des sucres dans les systèmes biologiques. En raison du rôle central que jouent les sucres dans de nombreux processus biologiques, le domaine de la glycomique est extrêmement multidisciplinaire et a suscité un grand intérêt de la part des chercheurs ayant des compétences diversifiées. On a constaté que des chaînes de sucres appelées glycanes jouent un rôle dans chaque maladie grave, ce qui a suscité un intérêt croissant pour l'exploration des possibilités thérapeutiques de la glycomique. glycans have been found to play a role in every major disease, and as a result there has been a surge of interest in exploring the therapeutic promise of glycomics.

Les sucres sont partout dans notre corps et dans l’environnement

Sugar molecules do much more than simply provide a source of food energy – they give trees their strength, determine our blood types, and protect microorganisms from their environments. In fact, sugars (also called carbohydrates or saccharides) are the most abundant biomolecule on the planet. Along with proteins, lipids, and nucleic acids, sugars are one of the fundamental building blocks of biology. Glycans coat the surface of every cell in our bodies, and their attachment to enzymes is the most common post-translational modification.

L’étude des sucres représente un défi, mais cela change – rapidement

Contrairement aux acides nucléiques et aux protéines, les glycanes ne sont pas synthétisés à l'aide d'un modèle. Leur expression et leur composition peuvent donc varier énormément en fonction de l'environnement cellulaire local. De plus, les sucres individuels peuvent être liés ensemble de bien plus de manières différentes que les acides nucléiques et les protéines, compliquant considérablement les efforts de synthèse et d'analyse. Pour ces raisons, la synthèse automatisée et les bases de données ne sont pas aussi bien développées en glycomique qu'en génomique et en protéomique, mais ces technologies progressent rapidement.

En 2015, la communauté de recherche canadienne en glycomique s'est mobilisée pour former Le Réseau Canadien de la Glycomique (GlycoNet), financé par le programme fédéral des Réseaux de Centres d'Excellence (RCE) et de nombreux autres partenaires. Le réseau compte maintenant plus de 140 chercheurs répartis dans plus de 30 établissements au Canada, avec le soutien de plus de 140 partenaires. Depuis sa création, GlycoNet a fait de grands pas dans la compréhension des rôles que jouent les sucres dans les maladies graves et dans la progression de nouvelles thérapies pour traiter ces maladies.

fr_CAFrench
en_USEnglish fr_CAFrench
Scroll to Top

An Introduction to Glycomics

Glycomics is the study of sugars in living cells.

Glycomics is analogous to genomics and proteomics – it’s the study of sugars in biological systems. Due to the central role that sugars play in many biological processes, the glycomics field is extremely multidisciplinary and has attracted great interest from researchers with diverse backgrounds. Chains of sugars called glycans have been found to play a role in every major disease, and as a result there has been a surge of interest in exploring the therapeutic promise of glycomics.

Sugars are everywhere in our bodies and the environment

Sugar molecules do much more than simply provide a source of food energy – they give trees their strength, determine our blood types, and protect microorganisms from their environments. In fact, sugars (also called carbohydrates or saccharides) are the most abundant biomolecule on the planet. Along with proteins, lipids, and nucleic acids, sugars are one of the fundamental building blocks of biology. Glycans coat the surface of every cell in our bodies, and their attachment to enzymes is the most common post-translational modification.

Sugars are a challenge to study, but this is changing – fast

Unlike nucleic acids and proteins, glycans are not synthesized using a template, and so their expression and composition can vary wildly depending upon the local cellular environment. As well, individual sugars can be linked together in many more ways than nucleic acids and proteins, greatly complicating synthetic and analytical efforts. For these reasons, automated synthesis and databases are not as well developed in glycomics as they are in genomics and proteomics, but these technologies are advancing rapidly.

In 2015 the Canadian glycomics research community mobilized to form the Canadian Glycomics Network (GlycoNet), funded by the federal Networks of Centres of Excellence (NCE) program and a range of partners. The network now comprises more than 140 researchers at 30 institutions across Canada, with support from more than 140 partners.  Since its inception, GlycoNet has made great strides in understanding the roles that sugars play in serious diseases and advancing new therapies to treat them.

en_USEnglish
fr_CAFrench en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top